June 2015

#BigIronMama 185 lb. Deadlift

#BigIronMama
185 lb. Deadlift

I had a chance to go to my friend’s gym, and she was kind enough to take this photograph.

Hey, this is a deadlift — that’s as far as I can lift it.   I can’t shoulder press that kind of weight!

I didn’t know until this year that in England, body weight is measured by stone + pounds.

One stone equals about fourteen pounds.  I mention this because this month I celebrate four stone lost off my starting weight.

I’ll save you the math — I’m at 203 lbs.  Also at that same gym, there is a nice scale that also measures body fat percentage.  FWIW, it says my percentage is 37%.

The funny thing about this picture is that I had not planned on wearing that particular shirt.  I wanted to wear my new, form fitting “Meet Me at the Gym” shirt, but that was in the laundry.  However, this way I can include this picture!

June 2014 and June 2015

June 2014 and June 2015

Standard

2 thoughts on “June 2015

  1. Rose Kreher says:

    Absolutely awe-inspiring! (I missed sending you thanks for all the info in your last post. (Was getting ready and then doing looooong trip to Oregon & Idaho; came home with incredible traveler’s ick.) Anyway, you must feel so powerful physically and mentally . . . probably even spiritually!

  2. Well, outside of the gym, I suppose I could carry Dwayne across the threshold, but most opportunities to lift that kind of weight would be a little contrived. Except for moving furniture. I hope he can tell a difference when we are carrying mattresses up the stairs!
    I was thinking about how in real life, you are the only person I can think offhand that lost and kept the weight off. But I didn’t really “witness” that. There is an acquaintance here who has kept it off, but again, I didn’t know her well enough to witness that. The weight loss road is punctuated by feelings of frustration and deprivation, but on the whole my experience has been positive. Of course it is overwhelming to think that this is LIFELONG. But there is mercy in that I only need to do one day at a time. I think part of the reason I didn’t start sooner is because I assumed weight loss is all about deprivation. Now you could say I would lose faster if I did have a little more deprivation!
    But I think next blog post will be about how, if I were to do it over again, I would do the same things, just some of them in different order.

    Understanding, of course, that “the right time” depends on so many factors for each individual.

    I do hope you liked the refuse to regain link. I’ve adjusted my macros to include more protein and fewer carbs. But so far have not come anywhere near accomplishing that goal!

Leave a Reply

